historyNo Comments

The Economic Community of West Africa was formed on 28th may 1975, member states includes Guinea, Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Senegal, Benin, Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Ghana, Sierra Leon, Liberia, Guinea Bissau, Togo, Cameroon, Cape Verde and Nigeria. The major problems facing Economic Community of West Africa (ECOWAS) includes:

1.Each member wants to benefit more than the other members of the community according to their interests.

2.Political instability affects member states, there have been civil wars and coup d‟état in the region, e.g. Nigeria, Sierra Leon, Liberia and Ivory Coast.

3.Poor communication network system in many parts of the region hinders organization activities to all places.

4.Language differences, other members are using English while others French this led to communication barrier between the members.

5.Lack of single currency creates the problem of the rate of exchange between the member states.

6.The problem of members to have a membership in more than one organization and all the organization have demands in terms of contribution i.e. it‟s difficult to contribute membership to all the organization due to poverty

Be the first to post a comment.

Add a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!